Kai-po-che : A Review (Spoiler Free)

I am not really a fan of the movies. Especially the ones based on novels (True to my wormy nature, I prefer books any day). More so if it is a bollywood adaptation. They usually end up spoiling the essence of the story and you are left with a hollow feeling once the movie ends. Coming to Kai po che, I frankly wasn’t excited at all. I have read all of Chetan bhagat’s book (It is my compulsive nature… I just have to read everything), and I’m not impressed. His book “Three mistakes of my life” was melodramatic in nature and a little tacky at times. So when Kaipoche happened, I wasn’t really interested. Then, I happened to read what Justin Rao had to say about the movie. He is an amazing critic and though we have our differences ( he liked cocktail, and that’s a crime on my list), I still love his reviews. I really never have the patience to scrutinize a movie that clearly and fairly. His review inspired me to give the movie a chance, and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised.

When you read a book, you are in control opposed to when you are watching a movie. The book gives you an infinite canvas to draw your imagination on whereas the movie is bound by the vision of the director and the acting of the actors. This movie is different. The screenplay has been changed and what is astonishing is that story is more alive because of that. Instead of being crippled by the changes, the story now has a new lease of life which is definitely a better experience.  The book was too filmy for my taste, the movie on the other hand is spectacularly fresh and realistic. However, I also agree with the other critics who instead of accusing Chetan bhagat for a sub-standard book, have praised him for the originality of the idea. As they said, Kaipoche wouldn’t be what it is, if it was not for the book itself.

The actors have all done a fabulous job, and so has the technical crew – be it the editing, camera work or the background scores. If you have read the book, you will love the movie . If you haven’t read the book, this movie will enthrall you all the same. But try not to go back and read the book ( yeah… some people actually do that).

Either way do watch the movie. For a review better than mine, read this : http://thinkingdoggy.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/kai-po-che/

2 thoughts on “Kai-po-che : A Review (Spoiler Free)

  1. Sayantika Adak Ghosh says:

    :)… Definitely 🙂

    Like

  2. Justin Rao says:

    Wow! That just made my day, mam! I know I am awfully late to read and comment, but thanks a lot for those overwhelmingly kind words!
    I am sure, this is one of the rare movie which you wont fast forward 😀

    PS: Our cocktail issues shall continue. Forever and ever 😀

    Like

Something you would like to share...?

