Its all about how you look at it…

There are times when we look at life differently. It could be the exact same situation, but either we consider it to be glass-half-empty or glass-half-full.

My house

I am presently living in one of those on-transit accommodations that the government allots till we get our permanent house. Before I start describing it, it might help you to know that these houses might as well have a neon sign hanging above them flashing “ Ready for demolition”, cause they are quite a lost cause. I have given up cleaning the house everyday, just do it once a week over the weekends. It is not cause I am lazy (which at times I am) but mostly because whatever you do, the walls shed cement, paint flakes and sand (yup…) like its autumn. So when I clean, all I collect is sand… in a big heap. I can’t hang anything on the walls as I fear I might just bring the whole thing down. All the tube lights flicker… they take like forever to come alive. There are only two fans and for some very weird reason, if one works, the other dies. The nets on the windows are opaque due to constant not-cleaning of previous residents and the frames are ready to plunge to their deaths by a single touch of the finger.

The ceiling’s high, and houses all the spiders that you will ever hear about. Worst part is when they swing low and go smack in your face early in the morning. It is quite impossible to reach out and clean them. There are holes (big gaping ones) and crevices at every corner which house many exotic, unique and extinct species of insects. Every alternate day I am reduced to a mere insect killer as I run after these bugs with a spray can or my slipper. There are weird animals/insects living in my false ceiling and all I hear is their continuous noises. I almost have a pet lizard which has found its home in the back of my dresser and every single time there’s even in slight lull in the noises in the room, it clucks away to glory.  The kitchen is without a doubt the masterpiece of the entire place. It is so tiny that if I exhale a little too forcefully, the flame on my stove flickers. If my husband decides to step to either help me or irritate me, there is no place to move…

The bathroom surprisingly is spacious but along with the shower water, there’s usually a shower of whatnots from the ceiling. The drain hole houses a whole family of earth worms, centi/milli and other kinds of pedes who kind of treat the bathroom floor as their garden. Every morning I need to either spray a lot of mortein inside the whole or lather up the floor with phenyl. I remember the unfortunate day when I forgot to do so, I was greeted by all the member of the wormy family as they lay writhing, slimy on the bathroom floor. The latest addition to this collection of eccentricities is the fact that the drawing room roof has sprung a leak. And it happened after a single rainy day. I really wonder what will happen once monsoon finally hits us here.

The way I see it, this is a place I have to stay in till we get our house and can build a home together. Most of the stuff is still packed away in boxes and trunks. We need to manage our routines so that we don’t keep bargin into each others space… since its only a temporary place, I don’t really care. We don’t want to complain and get things repaired cause we are anyhow leaving this soon.

My Home

I am presently living in one of those on-transit accommodations that the government allots till we get our permanent house. Before I start describing it, it might help you to know our home is this cosy little bungalow-looking house which is covered by mango trees on both side – the front and the back. The wall are a little old but we have put up these bright turquoise curtains and it just livens the place up. The walls do shed a lot of paint flakes and cement grain, but that just means I can clean it once a week and not bother anymore cause whatever I do, it will shed exactly the same amount. All the tube lights flicker… so we have made a game out of it, we race each other at predicting when will it finally light up. So once we switch on a tube, the only sounds you would here are screams of “NOW” from the two of us. We don’t keep score, but I’m definitely winning. The fans are quite whimsical and stop working whenever they feel like it. This forced us to get our AC installed… peace!!! The nets on the windows are rusty and opaque with dirt. Love it, as it means my house will always have that dim look. The frames were too flimsy so we just took them out and boarded up a few windows.

The ceiling’s high, and I love it. This is one reason I have always loved churches, their high ceilings, gives you the feeling of … awesomeness. Its fun to see the spiders drop down on their webs from so high and then scurry back up when you scare the poor little things. It is quite impossible to reach out and clean them, make my life easier hehehe! There are holes (big gaping ones) and crevices at every corner which house many exotic, unique and extinct species of insects. It is so much fun watching these insects crawl out. I have, till date, seen atleast 5 weird looking bugs. I do plan to catch a few and make pets out of them.  There are weird animals/insects living in my false ceiling and all I hear is their continuous noises. I almost have a pet lizard which has found its home in the back of my dresser and every single time there’s even in slight lull in the noises in the room, it clucks away to glory.  The kitchen is without a doubt the masterpiece of the entire place. It is so tiny and cosy. If my husband decides to step to either help me or irritate me, there is no place to move. Although it is difficult to work like this, but with him being so close… I have no complaints.

The bathroom surprisingly is spacious. The window above gives us the view of our mango tree and all the greenery is really soothing. There is always a breeze blowing… The drain hole houses a whole family of earth worms, centi/milli and other kinds of pedes who kind of treat the bathroom floor as their garden. You should see them drag themselves around. Do whatever, they come back… they fall, they are swept away, but every single time they manage to come back. The latest addition to this collection of eccentricities is the fact that the drawing room roof has sprung a leak. The morning when we discovered the leak, we accidentally turned the fan on and it sprinkled water all around… was soooo much fun. Almost like an inverted sprinkler. Can’t wait for the monsoons to hit us.

The way I see it, this is a place where we, my husband and I, have built a place for ourselves. We follow our made up rules… no sorrys no thank yous… the whole house is a fart zone, we can carry phone or books or whatever to the loo and nobody cares. We make microwaving seem fun, my work is never complete till he hangs around irritating me. Every morning we need to straighten his mattress as he has a way of pushing it out of the bed. The carpet has to be laid in a certain manner. Only ice creams for dinner… no milk at breakfast.

So long…

3 thoughts on “Its all about how you look at it…

  1. @ tanuja : thank u hain ji…
    @ work wifey : love that you’re finally commenting… you B****!!!

    Like

  2. tanuja says:

    excellent sweety:)

    Like

  3. Work Wifey says:

    I love this post….

    Like

Something you would like to share...?

