Memory Quilt

For my first Anniversary, I decided to gift my husband something with cotton ( first anniversary is Cotton). So I thought of simpler option wherein I could probably just buy him a cotton shirt and be done with it. The creative spark in me somehow managed to take over in the nick of time and I had this awesome idea. Ok, I shall agree that I happened to see “Step Mom” right about that time and the memory quilt in it was something that struck me as unique, well thought and dripping with love and affection. Thus started my journey towards creating the perfect memory quilt for my beloved.

I sorted through 100s of pictures and blogs on how to create a memory quilt. Finally I figured it out on my own.

I made a 6*6 quilt. Since every patchwork quilt is made up of shapes, I had to first determine the ones in mine, Somehow I didn’t have too much time to come up with a collage style, so I opted for the simplest cross patch. Alternating squares of different colours. Figured out the size of the squares… did a lot of math and finally figures out the exact number of squares in every row. 

The next big part was to figure out the cloth for the square patches. After a lot of market research(on prices and material), I zeroed in on a beautiful bedcover which was half dark blue and half sky blue and of a beautiful texture. I decided to add a few patches of light pink ( I hate the colour, but it kinda goes really well with the blue). To make it more interesting (and more troublesome), I decided to include a few patches which would contain our pictures. Cut out squares of s white synthetic (polyester) material and got the pictures printed on them using transfer paper. (any digital printer would be able to help you with it).

 

The herculean task was stitching the whole thing on my very very tiny electrical hand stitching machine(bought from e-bay). It took me 2 months, a completely cramped up neck and right hand, and hours spent under the table (to hide it from my hubby) to finally complete the whole stitching of the patches. I then had to stitch a back to the whole thing with a thin foam sheet in between to make it more “Quilt” like.

The resulting quilt is actually quite fabulous. Its a whole lot of hard work… but what makes it worthwhile is the smile it got on my sweetheart’s face.

Image

So long….

Something you would like to share...?

